The Money Matters Homie

Robeir Burns
3 min readMay 29, 2024

“Having money’s not everything, not having it is” — Kanye West

For as long as I can remember, or when I got my first job as a kid, money has been my main motivator. Growing up in a middle-class neighborhood in metro Detroit, I had constant reminders of why it’s important to make money in life, whether looking at the houses people lived in, cars people were driving, clothes they were wearing, and vacations they took few times a year. I knew at a very young age that gaining financial resources was very important for someone to live a certain type of lifestyle they desired. Even though I had no doubt in my mind I was going to strive for financial freedom later in my adult life, all I had to do was follow the basic American process of finishing high school, finishing college, starting a career, save, pay-off debt, and invest.

I was taught if I followed that basic process consistently and effectively, I would most likely become massively wealthy. But of course, life happens and my process didn’t go as planned because of the lack of knowledge and lack of financial literacy. Now that I’m older and have more access to all the information I need to become financially free, I can truly say that money matters! anyone who says they don’t care about it never had it. Some people have the misconception that money is evil. Money is not evil and it doesn’t corrupt people. In my opinion, money…

--

--