robek ‘rw’ world
1 min readDec 16, 2016

--

Well, I’m a contractor myself. I’m a roofer, Dunn and Reddy Home Improvements. And speaking as a roofer, I can say that a roofer’s personal politics come heavily into play when choosing jobs.

Three months ago I was offered a job up in the hills. A beautiful house with tons of property. It was a simple re-shingling job, but I was told that if it was finished within a day, my price would be doubled. Then I realized whose house it was.

Dominick Bambino’s, “Babyface” Bambino. The gangster.

The money was right, but the risk was too big. I knew who he was, and based on that, I passed the job on to a friend of mine. Based on personal politics.

And that week, the Foresci family put a hit on Babyface’s house. My friend was shot and killed. He wasn’t even finished shingling.

I’m alive because I knew there were risks involved taking on that particular client. My friend wasn’t so lucky. You know, any contractor willing to work on freelance knows the risks. If they were arrested, it was their own fault. A roofer listens to this not his wallet.

--

--

robek ‘rw’ world

a cute quantum gonzo journalist — likes software free, coins encrypted, animation eastern, boards with images, decentralized webs, and nightmares digital.