Poor Things and Buffy Feminism

We support all women, so long as they’re hot!

Robert K Starr
7 min readFeb 1, 2024
A poster for the movie Poor Things featuring Emma Stone

Quick Note: Medium apparently boosted this post, which is great, but if it’s going to do numbers and people are going to see it, I might as well use this opportunity to suggest you donate to the Palestine Children’s Relief Fund or any other organization bringing humanitarian aid to the people suffering in Gaza.

Anyway, on with the show:

You know, I’ve heard a lot about a backlash against the Academy for not nominating Greta Gerwig for Best Director and Margot Robbie for Best Actress, both for Barbie. But, you know, I’m not really hearing much backlash so much as I am hearing backlash against the backlash. In articles such as these:

Now, as I stated in my comment on the article, what this article denies is our ability (nay, our right as Americans!) to whine about who did and didn’t get nominations. As I stated back in September, if it was up to me, Marshawn Lynch would have received a Best Supporting Actor nomination for Bottoms (and it’s a damn shame he didn’t!). And, yeah, I…

--

--

Robert K Starr

Writer of screenplays and romance novels, but here I tend to focus on feminism and social justice-adjacent topics. I love my dog and also your dog.