If a thought experiment was good enough for Einstein….

Robert Hamilton-Smith
2 min readApr 17, 2018

--

Thought Experiment for life.

I have a theory (as do others) that being your true, expressive self will lead to a better future for you and those around you. Only you know what that is and only you can act upon that.

The paradox is that quite often we feel like we are in a construct that does not allow for the above. In recreation we pick things that may allow us to be that ‘thing’.

So here is the deal:

1. Pick times in day, every day that you can be that ‘self’

2. Do that thing, activity, way of living

3. Observe the results and repeat.

4. Carry this out for a predefined time period

5. Observe the results

6. Tell others

My Thought Experiment

I have always wanted to live a less selfish life so I tried this. For a week I would do my utmost to help other people. You are probably thinking ‘I do that’ but what I mean is to be continually better (relentlessly.)

What does this mean?

On my way to and from my work I am observing what is around me and evaluating if I can help someone or something for good. Irrespective of the impact it might have on my timelines. Letting others go before me in queues, picking up litter, telling someone their bag is open or at risk of being pick pocketed, letting people sit down on trains…

What did I learn?

People smile at you. It makes me feel good about other people. People are busy with their lives. It really is not hard to do if you make time for it.

Benefits

Possibly stopped a young girl throwing herself in front of a train.

How? I was aware of my surroundings, I saw the suffering and the danger. It might not have happened. Another person then followed me, my wife used her counselling skills (studying) to ground her and we sent her on her way. Hopefully, she was ok and can realise that there are other people who do care for her well being even if they are strangers.

Why?

Do the thing you want to do. Start. Time box it. Observe the affect it has on you and others.

Try it. Come up with your own. Share it and be afraid of that vulnerability but do it anyway.

--

--