Innovate in life

Robert Hamilton-Smith
2 min readApr 12, 2018

--

The rush of excitement about disruption and innovation is amazing however it’s all about business and business people. For the reason of making money.

This, to me, seems counterintuitive or inauthentic. Why? Most business people I have met are the least innovative people I have ever met in life.

What did you do at the weekend CEO?’

Worked

Don’t you work all week?’

Yep. Focused.

What about your kids?’

My wife had them’

Don’t you want to be with them?’

Sacrifices are required for the greater good’ (or some other bullshit excuse)

Instead of focusing on the ‘how to be different and stand out in business’ why not be different in life.

Disrupt away from the ‘way’. Fill your life with diversity and joy from the infinite possibilities. Work and making money is just one part of that and it’s not binary. You don’t have to be the drop out or the high career achiever. You can have it all and be rich from experience.

As a ‘modern’ father I co-parent. Not just bring in money. I give all my worldly experience, wisdom and guardianship as I can. I actually believe my only reason for existence is to help my kids (and anyone else who would listen) have a more evolved view on life.

I aim to train my kids to train cats to do shit. Not Machines.

We do not do the same things as our parents did but we pass down the bits we have weighed up in our minds as the good bits and talk about the bits which might be less good as being not so good. All this is trusted in human kind and we are doing a reasonable job but the more aware of this we are the better we could be.

Instead of saying ‘this is the way things are done around here’ say ‘well, this is the way it has been done historically but we know history isn’t right. Let’s think about a newer, better way’.

Imagine if the doctrine was replaced with possibilities. Innovate at the ‘how to live life’ level. Not some human construct level.

Stop looking around this party and copying what others are doing as a consensus. Consensus is wrong. It’s just the heard. Or perhaps we are just sheep and all looking for our shepherd (that magically dropped out of the sky 2000 years ago forgetting the 200,000 years that had passed)*

Innovate in life.

Here is a slideshare for some sugar

https://www.slideshare.net/mrm0/disruptive-innovation-how-do-you-use-these-theories-to-manage-your-it

*sorry, not sorry.

--

--