I doubled my followers in 1 month here’s how

Robert Haylor
3 min readJun 30, 2022

--

A lot of my Medium followers will know that I am on a bit of a journey to reach my first 100 followers by the end of June, yes you did read that right, by midnight tonight.

I wrote an article, around 2 days ago, about passing the half way point. Since then my follower count doubled, so too has the number of reads and claps that have been coming through.

A huge thank you to everyone that continues to follow and support me on Medium.

What’s at the source?

I like to analyse why something is happening. So here is what I have been doing since my previous post.

  1. I’ve started to engage a lot more on the Medium.com platform, reading more and commenting on posts where I think I can add value. I spend around 30 minutes — 1 hour everyday reading and commenting on peoples work.
  2. I have added a Medium.com link to my email signature, I am unsure if this has had much of an effect in terms of people reading my articles or visiting my Medium site.
  3. I’ve posted more articles, this will be my 5th article for June, when I normally only post around once a week on a good month.
  4. I shared one article within the Facebook medium groups
  5. Finally I have continued to share all of my articles via my own social media channels.

The above has enabled me to get to 86 followers, meaning I am just 14 away from that magic 100.

What I’ve learned from this, so far

Action! The key to any kind of success, whether it be joining the MPP (Medium Partner Program), when I get there, smashing a sales target or increasing bookings to an event.

It all comes down to that age old element of action, if you’re not putting in the work then you’re not going to get very far. When I workout, the weights don’t lift themselves, I lift them.

The amount of action that you put in will depend on how committed you are to achieving your goal.

So if something isn’t working, ask yourself, are you putting in the effort and how much more action is needed to get you to where you want to be, then get to work on making it happen.

Your mission

If you’re reading this, your mission if you choose to accept it and by choose I mean if you find what I write about, business, lifestyle, motivation and social media interesting, then click that follow button.

This really is the only post you will see from me ever asking for followers.

--

--

Robert Haylor

Website agency founder & fitness nutter. Dad to one 👨‍👦. Saving for a house 🏠. Engaged to be married 👰‍♀️. Studying money 💷.