My Unbiased Opinion on A Premium Bank Credit Card

Roberto Castromonte
4 min readJun 16, 2024
Chase Sapphire Reserve Credit Card by Chase

Banks all over the world offer credit cards to those with low credit or slightly below-average income. Then, there are credit cards designed for the elite, entrepreneurs, and popular figures.

One thing that caught my attention was the Chase Sapphire card, which I have known about for approximately six years (since 2018). This year, I decided to go for it and chose the Sapphire Reserve. With its $550 annual fee, I can understand why most people wouldn’t go for it, especially considering that Chase is not known for being the best bank in the country, given their low APY and savings bonuses.

As soon as I obtained the Sapphire Reserve, the first thing I used it for was the MTA subway. For $2.90, Chase covered that expense for me as part of their $300 travel credit. If we do the math, that equates to 103 FREE MTA subway rides covered by the bank. Not to mention OMNY and their unlimited weekly pass after 12 taps a week.

This card not only covers the MTA with its $300 travel credit but also covers Lyft, Uber, Amtrak, and even some airlines. Again, a $300 travel credit. So if you use this for your normal commute, the card effectively costs you $250 ($550 — $300).

Additionally, the Sapphire Reserve pays for your Lyft Pink pass for 2 years, DoorDash (DashPass), and even Instacart+ for a year…

--

--

Roberto Castromonte
0 Followers

Part time writer. Full time real estate.