Why I Made the Mistake of Not Getting an X-ray

Karen Roberts
4 min readJul 2, 2020

Sometimes I’m just too much of an optimist. When my foot slipped and slammed against a wooden divider between two rooms, I thought I had just bruised my toes. My pinky toe was swollen and hurt. I guess I should have thought it through, knowing that it was the outer side of my foot that got whacked.

The toes slowly turned purple as a couple days went by. I couldn’t wear a shoe because it made my toes hurt. So I hobbled around in flip flops for eight days. Even though my ankle and the top of my foot were swelling, I kept telling myself that it would be better soon. After all. those bruises were pretty bad.

Besides optimism, I was trying to put my faith into action. My two daughters, husband, a son-in-law, and several grandchildren had prayed for my foot when I injured it. So I figured that God was healing my foot and I shouldn’t worry about it.

Then there was the fact that we were in Lake George, NY, and had to make a four and a half hour drive back home. I think in the back of my mind I didn’t want to go to Urgent Care, for I might not have been permitted to drive. Since my husband’s health problems keep him from driving, I knew that I needed to be able to drive home.

However, I could have gone to Urgent Care once we were home. But I just didn’t believe I had a serious injury. Also our…

--

--

Karen Roberts

Writer, Internet Marketer, Grandma, Assistant homeschooler, Retired caseworker, former summer camp director