The Hate U Give

Timmothy Roberts
4 min readMay 7, 2018

--

A Look Into The Role of Black Fatherhood

Sixteen-year-old Starr Carter moves between two worlds: the poor neighborhood where she lives and the fancy suburban prep school she attends. Its the crazy balance between these worlds is shattered when Starr witnesses the fatal shooting of her childhood best friend Khalil at the hands of a police officer. Khalil was unarmed. Soon afterward, his death is a national headline. Some are calling him a thug, maybe even a drug dealer and a gangbanger. Protesters are taking to the streets in Khalil’s name. Some cops and the local drug lord try to intimidate Starr and her family. What everyone wants to know is: what really went down that night? And the only person alive who can answer that is Starr. But what Starr does — or does not — say could upend her community. It could also endanger her life.

Black fatherhood- According to urban dictionary black man are strong minded. He is recognize for his strengthens, nevertheless, he has the God given ability to overcome many life changing and life threatening challenges. This is a black man who constantly gives his children advice and tells them of his mistakes in order to help them be better men and women. This is a black man who sticks by his children although they may not always take his advice and end up in trouble. This is a black man who not only fathers a child biologically but oversees the caring of his children qualifying him as a dad also.

Five Elements of Black Fatherhood in T.H.U.G

BrotherHood

-Someone gave Maverick the store

-Maverick offered Khalil a job

-Maverick offered to protect Devante

-Maverick had a relationship with Mr.Lewis

-Mr.Lewis gave Maverick his old store

-In my personal life my mentor Ryan …

Activism

  • At first Starr didn't want to protest but once the grand jury found the police officer 115 innocent Starr had enough and began to protest. From the top of the police car, Starr speaks passionately to the crowd about the wrongness of Khalil’s death. She leads a chant, “Khalil lived!” before the police throw a can of tear gas at her. She picks up the can and hurls it back towards the police; chaos breaks out on the street.
  • In my life I personally haven't protested but something that relates to this situation in today times would be the Rodney Kings riots in 1992. Once people found out that the officers that beat up Rodney were not punished for there crime people lashed out.

Mental health

  • Starr Witnessing (2) death,Khalil death, Natasha death
  • Having her father in the house to talk out her problems
  • In my life, having my twin sister taken away from me at a young age, then from that having my father in my life to talk to him about the situation.

Hip Hop

  • The title was inspired by Tupac
  • T.H.U.G.L.I.F.E- The hate you give little infants fuck everybody
  • Hip Hop related to what is going on in today times
  • Some of today's rap music is trash but artist like j.Cole, Kendrick, are conscious rappers. There music talks about what is going on in today's time and the reason there music will live on is because its always relevant.

Tradition

  • Maverick instilled education into Starr head
  • Maverick confronts seven about his plans on going to college and tells him to go away from home because it offers more opportunities.
  • My parents telling me to go to college

Solution

  • Representation
  • Media
  • Breaking Stereotypes
  • Mentoring

Get Engaged

  • BMI- “Black Male Initiative”

https://www.csun.edu/dubois-hamer-institute-for-academic-achievement/black-male-initiative

  • BMS-Black Male Scholars”

Csun.edu/black-male-scholars

-My Father

Biography

Hello Everyone,

My name is Timmothy Roberts. I grew up in a single parent household with my older brother in south Los Angeles. Growing up I didn’t always have what I wanted but we somehow made a way to figure things out. Growing up in the Roberts household was like a box of chocolate cause you never knew what your day would look like. For example one day you would have my brother coming home with a 10/10 on his spelling test to another day of me coming home suspended for lighting firecrackers in the school bathroom with a couple of friends. Throughout my childhood I learned many life lessons and the person who taught me most of these lessons were my father. Looking back I always thought my pops was on my back because he didn’t like me but he was on me for a reason to be better than him. Now that I am grown up me and my pops are best friends. I now understand what my father was trying to do, he was trying to keep me out of harm’s way and get me prepared for the real world.

--

--