I Say the Borderlands Movie Deserves a Chance, and Here’s Why

--

Sorry, I couldn’t remove the People stamp.

So earlier today, People Magazine revealed some first shots of the cast of Tim Roth’s film adaptation of Borderlands, which is set to drop later this year.

Of course, there are mixed feelings. The cast primarily features Cate Blanchett and Jamie Lee Curtis in roles for women that are reportedly half their age in the game. Not to mention Kevin Hart is here because…comic relief, I suppose. And he still gets box office draw.

But as unforgiving as some people are, I’m going to wait and give Borderlands a chance. There are a few reasons for this, so hear me out before you start throwing tomatoes.

  • Jamie Lee Curtis is a badass. In her 60s she’s taken on some great roles and really nailed them. Everything Everywhere All At Once, the latter Halloween films, Knives Out…and so forth. I know some folks get on her case for her political views, but dang it, she can act. Not to mention that she’s a gamer. Ask her about Assassin’s Creed in some fashion and she’ll likely explain her favorite strategies on the spot.
  • Cate Blanchett is a decent choice. I honestly think there are others that could’ve filled the role of Lilith, but I’m intrigued to see what she does with the role. Not to mention Thor: Ragnarok. I mean, even in her 50s she can still go. Just ask Indiana Jones. (Or maybe not.)
  • Jack Black as Claptrap. Honestly. What more do you need? The guy is gold playing anything. I’d even watch Envy again if I could. (Maybe.)
  • Ariana Greenblatt as Tiny Tina. She looks great for the role.
  • Janina Gavaknar as Commander Knoxx. Yeah, I need to see that.
  • Gina Gershon as Mad Moxxi. Yeah, I need to see that as well.
  • Eli Roth’s handling the film, and something tells me it’s going to go for an “R” rating. That means no holding back on the violence, jokes and everything else the game is known for. He did pretty well with Thanksgiving, so, yeah, let’s see that George Miller touch of his with the post-apocalypse.
  • I mentioned Jack Black, right?
Yep, I’ll see it.

Look, there are projects that are open to skepticism. I mean, I still have no idea why Madame Web was made. I really don’t. But I think, given the right approach, Borderlands could overcome the negativity and actually be pretty good. I’ll go see it.

Not that you have to, but maybe just don’t shrug it off because it’s an “old person graveyard,” as one person put it. I’m curious to see what this cast can do. And if I’m wrong, well, wouldn’t be the first time.

Borderlands awayyyyyyy! (Or something.)

Have a great week, everyone, and thanks for reading!

--

--

Psychobabble- Video Games + More by Robert Workman

Former game journalist now working on helping others. All about talking video games, bad movies, shows and more. Oh, and I have a Battletoads tattoo. Hi Mom!