Mr. Hockey The Gordie Howe Story Movie Review

Rob Ficiur
7 min readMay 7, 2020

Seeing Mr. Hockey through my eyes Then (as a child) and my eyes Now (as a grandfather)

In the era Corona Virus isolation, it is important to feed your mind with positive stories. Too many hours watching the 24-hour news channels will leave you thinking the world will end this week. Too many hours on social media will convince you that the world already ended last week.

The un-retirement of Mr. Hockey, The Gordie Howe Story is a positive way to spend 90 minutes. I found the movie on the streaming service called Tubi. One positive is that Tubi’s streaming service is free, you can’t beat that Tubi price.

I met Gordie Howe in 1985 when he was signing hockey cards at a video store about four blocks from my house. When I came to the front of the line, he was impressed with one of my three hockey cards — it was the card of Gordie with his two sons Mark and Marty the first year they played together in the World Hockey Association (WHA). The movie Mr. Hockey is about Gordie Howe being the first professional hockey player to play with his sons.

--

--

Rob Ficiur

Masters degree in education. Retired classroom school teacher 34 years; Husband, father, grandfather. Always wondering how we can get more done.