Remembering when Gordie Howe turned 80

Rob Ficiur
7 min readMay 1, 2020

Gordie Howe retired (the first time) from the National Hockey League 50 years ago. Half a century later, he is still Mr. Hockey. This is not just a sentimental memory of old time hockey fans who remember how much better things were when they were young. Howe still holds records that no one has (or may ever) touch. His on ice play was only a fraction of what made him Mr. Hockey.

I wrote this article 12 years ago. Most of my decade old articles are out of date.

Just like Mr. Hockey himself, Gordie’s hockey career and legend seemed unchanged by time.

On Monday March 31, 2008 Mr. Hockey, Gordie Howe turned 80. I met Mr. Hockey about 20 years ago when he was signing autographs at a Lethbridge video store. My brother and I collected all the Gordie Howe hockey cards we could find and hoped he would sign them. As I recall there were about a dozen people in line but Gordie took his time and visited with each person. (My wife a non-hockey fan remembers the line was much longer than that — no matter we all waited in line) When I got to the front of the line he treated me like I was the most important hockey fan…

--

--

Rob Ficiur

Masters degree in education. Retired classroom school teacher 34 years; Husband, father, grandfather. Always wondering how we can get more done.