Robin Edwards
1 min readAug 10, 2020

Too Tired To Care

Been sittin' on this porch now

till the sun sets against the sky

the hues of my life splash around me

painted before my eyes

A canvas of passion, and sorrow

with layers of a broken spirit

becomes the most beautiful painting

when the end is drifting near it

I've lived through fearful times

cried an ocean of bitter tears

found God when I wasn't looking

now I'm just too tired to care

I've lived for years with the boggy man

always pullin' the covers off me

I learned to stop fighting back

and let my troubled soul fly free

Now all the colors twirl

as the sun slips on a dare

darkness swirls around me now

but I'm too tired to care

When you're too tired to care

life becomes almost surreal

and the colors blend with a peaceful warmth

that you can almost feel

I lean back and close my eyes

and let the wind blow through my hair

and feel my soul set sail

as I slip into thin air