Fourth Wing

Robin AVes
2 min readSep 30, 2023

--

Review of Rebecca YarrosThe Empyrean Series

First photobash with Midjourny

It’s been a couple of months since I read this book.
I get a feeling of “The Never Night Chronicles”. Although Jay Kristoff’s books are some of the best books I have read, this is not. It’s the school and the training ground, its gladiator and dorm world-building that makes me. Let’s say nostalgic.

Don’t know if you can be nostalgic of a book you read one year ago though?

It’s an enjoyable read, fast-paced and keeps you engaged. I might have had higher thoughts of this book if I hadn’t listened to the audiobook. The narrator was always talking exhilarating, sometimes almost screaming. I had to pause at times to gather myself.

I’m into world-building. This book focuses more on emotions between people and dragons than anything else. And, I don't know how to feel about the drama between three dragons and two humans as well.

At the end of the book its more world-building, but it gets lost in the crescendo of an epic ending. It’s hard for me to give the book points since I, for one: Feel drawn to Jay Kristoff’s world. Two: The book keeps you on your toes.

Conclusion:

If I had read the book irl. Without the narrator, I would most likely give this a 3 out of 5. But as it is now, I will take one point of. On the other hand I will give the second book a go: Iron Flame

Even though I am somewhat annoyed by this book its exhilarating to read!

2 out of 5 Audiobook

3 out of 5 For storie

Even though its lacking in the world part, putting to much emphasis on emotions between characters. Its still engaging and dicerves more than 2 for that.

Happy Reading friends!

--

--

Robin AVes

Fantasy writer and AI enthusiast. I organize my uplodes in my list.