Rob Nay
4 min readAug 22, 2017

--

An​ ​open​ ​letter​ ​to​ ​Mr​ ​Turnbull​ ​-​ ​Leukaemia​ ​made​ ​achieving​ ​equality​ ​even​ ​more​ ​imperative,​ ​stop failing​ ​us

21​ ​August​ ​2017

Dear​ ​Mr​ ​Prime​ ​Minister,

I​ ​write​ ​to​ ​you,​ ​the​ ​Prime​ ​Minister,​ ​as​ ​a​ ​citizen​ ​of​ ​Australia​ ​and​ ​as​ ​a​ ​constituent​ ​of​ ​the​ ​Federal​ ​electorate​ ​of Warringah​ ​represented​ ​by​ ​an​ ​MP​ ​who​ ​places​ ​his​ ​personal​ ​views​ ​above​ ​the​ ​majority​ ​view​ ​held​ ​within​ ​his seat.​ ​​ ​I​ ​also​ ​write​ ​from​ ​my​ ​hospital​ ​bed​ ​in​ ​St​ ​Vincent’s​ ​Public​ ​Hospital​ ​on​ ​the​ ​border​ ​of​ ​your​ ​electorate.

I​ ​was​ ​admitted​ ​into​ ​hospital​ ​last​ ​week​ ​for​ ​a​ ​relatively​ ​simple​ ​nose​ ​procedure.​ ​​ ​A​ ​day​ ​surgery,​ ​in​ ​and​ ​out,​ ​a quick​ ​fix.​ ​​ ​One​ ​week​ ​off​ ​being​ ​a​ ​lawyer​ ​to​ ​alleviate​ ​a​ ​relatively​ ​minor​ ​and​ ​common​ ​issue.​ ​​ ​Upon​ ​my admission​ ​I​ ​was​ ​described​ ​by​ ​the​ ​nurses​ ​as​ ​being​ ​a​ ​fit​ ​and​ ​healthy​ ​young​ ​man.​ ​​ ​Fast​ ​forward​ ​nearly​ ​two weeks​ ​and​ ​that​ ​description,​ ​though​ ​still​ ​applicable​ ​in​ ​my​ ​own​ ​mind,​ ​is​ ​by​ ​way​ ​of​ ​misfortune​ ​no​ ​longer appropriate.

On​ ​Friday​ ​18​ ​August​ ​2017,​ ​I​ ​was​ ​diagnosed​ ​with​ ​a​ ​form​ ​of​ ​leukaemia​ ​named​ ​Chronic​ ​Myeloid​ ​Leukaemia (CML).​ ​​ ​When​ ​the​ ​haematologist​ ​said​ ​the​ ​word​ ​leukaemia​ ​I​ ​was​ ​broken.​ ​​ ​Leukaemia,​ ​as​ ​in​ ​cancer.​ ​​ ​No,​ ​I thought,​ ​as​ ​a​ ​25​ ​year​ ​old​ ​otherwise​ ​healthy​ ​young​ ​man​ ​it​ ​just​ ​could​ ​not​ ​be​ ​true.​ ​​ ​A​ ​few​ ​days​ ​have​ ​since passed​ ​but​ ​still​ ​I​ ​struggle​ ​with​ ​the​ ​reality​ ​that,​ ​through​ ​no​ ​fault​ ​of​ ​my​ ​own,​ ​and​ ​with​ ​no​ ​family​ ​history​ ​of​ ​this disease​ ​I​ ​am​ ​all​ ​of​ ​a​ ​sudden​ ​battling​ ​cancer.

When​ ​you​ ​are​ ​initially​ ​diagnosed​ ​with​ ​cancer​ ​a​ ​multitude​ ​of​ ​thoughts​ ​flood​ ​your​ ​mind.​ ​​ ​Your​ ​emotions​ ​run high​ ​and​ ​any​ ​sense​ ​of​ ​pragmatism​ ​evaporates.​ ​​ ​The​ ​prevailing​ ​thought​ ​for​ ​me​ ​however​ ​was​ ​that​ ​I​ ​needed to​ ​talk​ ​to​ ​my​ ​partner​ ​immediately.​ ​​ ​I​ ​could​ ​not​ ​handle​ ​the​ ​news​ ​on​ ​my​ ​own.​ ​​ ​I’ve​ ​been​ ​with​ ​Miguel​ ​for​ ​close to​ ​two​ ​years,​ ​in​ ​a​ ​committed​ ​and​ ​loving​ ​relationship​ ​rivalling​ ​that​ ​of​ ​the​ ​majority​ ​of​ ​couples,​ ​married​ ​or otherwise.​ ​​ ​Miguel​ ​is​ ​a​ ​surgical​ ​nurse​ ​from​ ​Puerto​ ​Rico,​ ​living​ ​in​ ​the​ ​USA​ ​and​ ​currently​ ​applying​ ​for​ ​an Australian​ ​visa.​ ​​ ​He​ ​is​ ​meant​ ​to​ ​be​ ​enjoying​ ​a​ ​well​ ​deserved​ ​trip​ ​with​ ​a​ ​friend​ ​to​ ​Colombia​ ​and​ ​Peru. Instead,​ ​upon​ ​hearing​ ​the​ ​news​ ​of​ ​my​ ​diagnosis​ ​he​ ​rushed​ ​across​ ​the​ ​Pacific​ ​to​ ​my​ ​bedside.​ ​​ ​Miguel​ ​has been​ ​the​ ​rock​ ​for​ ​not​ ​only​ ​me​ ​but​ ​also​ ​my​ ​parents,​ ​the​ ​rest​ ​of​ ​my​ ​family​ ​and​ ​my​ ​friends.

I​ ​came​ ​into​ ​hospital​ ​as​ ​an​ ​strong​ ​advocate​ ​for​ ​marriage​ ​equality.​ ​​ ​That​ ​was​ ​before​ ​I​ ​was​ ​diagnosed​ ​with leukaemia.​ ​​ ​As​ ​I​ ​prepare​ ​to​ ​be​ ​discharged,​ ​my​ ​demand​ ​for​ ​equality​ ​is​ ​more​ ​profound​ ​and​ ​now​ ​more crucial.​ ​​ ​The​ ​reality,​ ​Mr​ ​Turnbull,​ ​as​ ​you​ ​well​ ​know​ ​is​ ​that​ ​marriage​ ​still​ ​brings​ ​with​ ​it​ ​certain​ ​rights​ ​and privileges​ ​which​ ​are​ ​not​ ​open​ ​to​ ​LGBTI​ ​people,​ ​even​ ​those​ ​in​ ​legally​ ​recognised​ ​de​ ​facto​ ​relationships.​ ​​ ​I will​ ​not​ ​divulge​ ​into​ ​them​ ​as​ ​I​ ​respect​ ​your​ ​intelligence.​ ​​ ​I​ ​also​ ​respect​ ​your​ ​personal​ ​views​ ​on​ ​marriage equality​ ​and​ ​the​ ​support​ ​you​ ​showed​ ​for​ ​the​ ​movement​ ​before​ ​you​ ​became​ ​Prime​ ​Minister.​ ​​ ​I’m​ ​asking you​ ​to​ ​show​ ​me​ ​and​ ​others​ ​like​ ​me​ ​some​ ​respect.

This​ ​postal​ ​vote​ ​on​ ​marriage​ ​equality​ ​is​ ​nothing​ ​but​ ​a​ ​farce.​ ​​ ​You​ ​know​ ​it,​ ​I​ ​know​ ​it,​ ​even​ ​the conservatives​ ​in​ ​your​ ​party​ ​know​ ​it.​ ​​ ​For​ ​too​ ​long​ ​the​ ​rights​ ​of​ ​people​ ​like​ ​me​ ​have​ ​been​ ​juggled​ ​in​ ​what​ ​is a​ ​pathetic,​ ​political​ ​circus.​ ​​ ​Mr​ ​Howard​ ​amended​ ​the​ ​Marriage​ ​Act​ ​to​ ​our​ ​detriment.​ ​​ ​Labor​ ​then​ ​had​ ​the opportunity​ ​to​ ​legislate​ ​for​ ​marriage​ ​equality​ ​and​ ​failed​ ​to​ ​do​ ​so.​ ​​ ​Your​ ​predecessor​ ​connived​ ​the​ ​idea​ ​of having​ ​a​ ​harmful​ ​plebiscite​ ​with​ ​the​ ​sole​ ​goal​ ​of​ ​delaying​ ​the​ ​inevitable.​ ​​ ​Now,​ ​with​ ​you,​ ​Mr​ ​Shorten​ ​and the​ ​majority​ ​of​ ​the​ ​parliament​ ​in​ ​support​ ​of​ ​marriage​ ​equality​ ​you​ ​are​ ​authorising​ ​an​ ​archaic​ ​opinion​ ​poll intended​ ​for​ ​the​ ​Yes​ ​vote​ ​to​ ​fail.​ ​​ ​If​ ​the​ ​postal​ ​vote​ ​does​ ​go​ ​ahead,​ ​it​ ​will​ ​not​ ​fail.​ ​​ ​We​ ​will​ ​not​ ​fail​ ​but​ ​I​ ​will not​ ​be​ ​able​ ​to​ ​say​ ​the​ ​same​ ​about​ ​you​ ​in​ ​your​ ​role​ ​as​ ​our​ ​nation’s​ ​leader.

As​ ​an​ ​increasingly​ ​disenfranchised​ ​young​ ​swing​ ​voter,​ ​I​ ​ask​ ​you​ ​to​ ​show​ ​some​ ​leadership,​ ​guts​ ​and respect.​ ​​ ​You​ ​alone​ ​have​ ​the​ ​ability​ ​to​ ​allow​ ​a​ ​conscience​ ​vote​ ​on​ ​marriage​ ​equality.​ ​​ ​Ms​ ​Angela​ ​Merkel voted​ ​no​ ​to​ ​equality​ ​yet​ ​had​ ​the​ ​dignity​ ​to​ ​allow​ ​a​ ​conscience​ ​vote.​ ​​ ​Without​ ​intending​ ​to​ ​disrespect​ ​you Sir,​ ​that​ ​single​ ​act​ ​alone​ ​displayed​ ​more​ ​courage​ ​than​ ​you​ ​have​ ​shown​ ​since​ ​you​ ​became​ ​Prime​ ​Minister.

It​ ​is​ ​not​ ​too​ ​late,​ ​in​ ​fact​ ​it’s​ ​time.​ ​​ ​It’s​ ​time​ ​for​ ​marriage​ ​equality​ ​without​ ​a​ ​postal​ ​vote​ ​and​ ​the​ ​hate campaign​ ​that​ ​it​ ​has​ ​already​ ​instigated.

Let​ ​me​ ​and​ ​others​ ​respect​ ​you​ ​again​ ​by​ ​taking​ ​action.​ ​​ ​Let​ ​the​ ​country​ ​catch​ ​up​ ​the​ ​ground​ ​it​ ​has​ ​let​ ​slip on​ ​similar​ ​minded​ ​nations.​ ​​ ​Let​ ​me​ ​expend​ ​my​ ​energy​ ​on​ ​the​ ​important​ ​fight​ ​of​ ​beating​ ​cancer​ ​rather​ ​than dealing​ ​with​ ​hurtful​ ​comments​ ​from​ ​those​ ​who​ ​cannot​ ​fathom​ ​the​ ​preposterous​ ​idea​ ​of​ ​people​ ​like​ ​me simply​ ​being​ ​equal.

Regards,

Robert​ ​Nay

--

--