I’m learning how to write.

Robyn Dooley
2 min readApr 16, 2016

--

Don’t get me wrong, I can type a few words and pump out a blog post if it’s necessary. But, that’s only when I’ve had a couple of hissy fits and have rewritten the same sentence over 10 times… Then double checked I’ve included all the dots on my ‘i’s, even though I’ve been typing on a keyboard, and making sure the 4 writing apps that I’ve downloaded (that autocheck my grammar and highlight my mistakes) have been through my post with a fine toothcomb.

Even then, I still find mistakes after having posted it.

So, I want to get better. And I want to find that confidence that I had back when I was 7 and I wrote my first ever book about a girl who had a magic, telepathic cat. I’m tired of attending amazing events, grasping new opportunities, falling in love with podcast channels and meeting really good people — and not telling anyone about it.

Now the question, of course, would be: does anyone actually care?

But yes, I care. Because I have the memory of a fish and find it difficult to track back what I did with my day yesterday, never mind reflect on a deep conversation that I had with one of my mentors just over a month ago, and that is something I would like to do. So, in comes… This blog.

I’m still figuring out what I’ll be writing about because I could, if I really wanted to, share with you a deep and detailed post on what I had for dinner every night. But oddly, I don’t think you’ll find it to be all that interesting. Although, my smoked haddock salads are something to shout about. I want this to be a place where I can look back on in 5, 10, 50 years and see my writing go from not-so-hot to shit-hot and in doing so, share with you my stories, thoughts, and conversations.

This is me, learning. Finding out my preferred way of sharing my personal ‘content’ and documenting my experiences. Resources and recommendations of books on how to become a writing wizard are most definitely welcome.

--

--

Robyn Dooley

50/50. Content strategist & creator at Studio Vorfreude. Learning Designer at OH. Partnering with teams who have big ideas.