Rochelle Jackson-Smarr
1 min readJun 17, 2016

Today’s Learner: 21st Century Skills Every Student Needs to Succeed

We all know that the Common Core curriculum (and other education reform programs) mention 21st century skills, but rarely do those skills seem tangible like they do in this infographic.

Jackie Gerstein, User Generated Education, developed this great chart of what skills would be most valuable for today’s learner. I think these skills are adaptable for anyone in K-12, higher education, or in a continuing education program. I know that I will definitely be referring to this chart over the summer as I draft the curriculum for my program. By the end of next year I hope to have them all on track to mastering or planning to master these skills.

Here’s what I do know: holistic ( social, emotional, and academic ) learning can only benefit today’s learner in every aspect of their lives.

Rochelle Jackson-Smarr

Higher Education program administrator advocating for increased community engagement opportunities where students learn from community co-educators.