Maybe we should stop dragging our exes through the mud.

Maybe we should see their humanity instead.

Anonymous Teacher
3 min readJun 4, 2023

Don’t get me wrong.

I understand the temptation.

I’ve dragged my ex through the mud on this platform. More than once.

Sure, maybe some people deserve to be dragged through the mud.

Or maybe those same people were doing the best that they could.

Maybe it’s hard to acknowledge that fact. Because maybe it forces us to look in the mirror and realize that we haven’t always been our best selves either.

Maybe it’s about high time that we acknowledge that we are all fucked up.

Maybe it’s time that we acknowledge that we are all broken.

I don’t know about you, but I look back on my past relationships and cringe because of all of the ways I came up short.

It’s easy to point the finger at someone else. It’s far harder to point the finger at yourself.

Pointing the finger at ourselves forces us to look at ourselves. It forces us to look in the mirror. To recognize that we have problems. That our ex maybe wasn’t the devil incarnate.

--

--

Anonymous Teacher

I’m a writer and single dad. I have two Master’s degrees and was teacher of the year. But honestly, who gives a f*ck.