Why my circle of family and friends is getting smaller and smaller.

And maybe that’s a good thing.

Anonymous Teacher
2 min readDec 2, 2023

My sister recently criticized my dating life. Strangely enough, she hasn’t ever been truly involved in my life.

Herein lies the problem with some of our family members: they feel like they have the right to judge us because they “know” us, and yet, they know us less than the acquaintances who inhabit our lives.

I’ve felt more love by Queer men than I’ve ever felt loved by my sister.

I’ve felt more love by so-called atheists and agnostics than my sister who claims to be a Christian.

I’ve felt more self-love feeling abandoned and alone than I’ve ever felt around my sister.

This isn’t an indictment of my sister. According to my calculus, I just might be the greatest asshole who ever walked the earth.

But at least I’m an asshole who is willing to be vulnerable. Who is willing to be real.

My sister, on the other hand, undoubtedly has a lot to lose if she were to be truly vulnerable and real. She makes $150,000 a year and has a reputation to uphold. She has appearances to maintain.

Me on the other hand? I feel like I have nothing to lose. I get to be me, with zero fucks given.

--

--

Anonymous Teacher

I’m an educator, writer, and single dad. I have two Master’s degrees and was teacher of the year. But honestly, who gives a f*ck.