When everything fades away

Ro Gardey
7 min readOct 21, 2023

When one door closes another opens

I should travel more often, I said to myself. Why did I wait so long to do this trip? but instead of writing a list of the reasons why I didn´t, I am going to say that I am thankful I finally did it. I want to travel the world and write about what I have learned. For someone who loves to write like me, traveling is one of my greatest sources of inspiration.

Fontana di Trevi (Rome)

The reason I traveled to Europe was to visit a person with whom I had a very beautiful connection and I felt a great love for him. When we said goodbye, I stayed in New Zealand and he went back to Italy. The goodbye was a mixture of sadness and joy for having met him and because I was hopeful that our relationship would work out in the future. At first, it seemed like things were going well, we talked on the phone every day and video-called from time to time and that motivated me to go visit him in the next few months. As time went by I felt that he was losing interest. I could tell by the way he was answering my messages or actually his lack of response and superficial replies.

My heart felt as if it had been broken into a thousand pieces. What was happening? because my feelings and my desire to be with him were as intact as when he left but I felt he didn’t feel the same anymore. I felt very sad because I knew it was no longer the same. That morning when I…

--

--

Ro Gardey
0 Followers

I am Rocio from Argentina :). I am currently living in New Zealand. One of the things that I love most is to travel. Writing for me is a way to express myself