Off to new adventures.

Roland Grenke
2 min readJul 18, 2016

--

Almost 3.5 years ago, Jonas, Daniel and I set out on a journey to transform the way people communicated using video. We started by iterating on multiple ideas until we landed on one that stuck, Dubsmash. It felt like overnight, people around the world experienced the product and began sending dubs back and forth to each other. Today, over 100 million people around the world have the product and we see increasing usage globally.

Over the past 12 months, my cofounders and I have been in deep discussions on how we wanted to to build a world class team in Berlin to be able to support and sustain such growth. We began to realize that this was bigger than any of one us & the way to grow this company is to find the best people to take it to the next level. I spent this time finding and recruiting the best talent around the world to come and work at Dubsmash. After hiring & handing over to key leaders taking over the business, technology and operation functions, I feel comfortable taking a step back from the operational day to day of the company & transitioning to new things.

The fact that we have been able to built up this incredibly talented and hard working team over the last couple of years leaves me without any doubt that the company will continue to thrive. I will stay an active shareholder & advisor and I am excited to see the company growing from strength to strength in the future.

I’ll be spending the next few months iterating on new ideas, traveling and meeting some old friends. In the meantime, feel free to discuss with me new opportunities in the tech and startup world and contact me at roland@rolandgrenke.com.

Cheers,
Roland

--

--