Disability Etiquette Best Practices

Romell Cummings
2 min readApr 4, 2023

--

Several years ago (prior to acquiring a disability), I reached down to pick up the the cane (walking stick) of someone I accompanied to an event. When he looked at me as if I’d offended him, I realized that I may have made him uncomfortable and overstepped my boundaries.

Years later after acquiring a disability, I clearly understood why I’d received that look. I’ve also been in situations where instead of being asked if I’d like assistance, someone has done too much to assist without my asking. Initially, I’ll admit that I had an internal struggle with this, because I felt like there are some things that I can still do myself, and how dare you assume that I couldn’t.

#GiveYourselfGrace

Since that time, I’ve learned to appreciate the accommodations and assistance that I receive, and I’m graciously learning to ask for help when I need it. I share that as a point of growth, as this transition has been a challenge. Many times I’ve told others to #GiveYourselfGrace, I had to learn to give myself some too.

Recently a friend shared the following infographic from CCDI Consulting Inc. | Consultation CCDI, Inc., which provides some tips on how to approach certain situations involving individuals with disabilities. These best practices provide a courteous, effective way to approach different types of disabilities without offending, and I hope that others will find this tool useful as well.

Some include:

• Do not assume other people’s needs/wants.

• Do not touch a person’s mobility equipment.

• Be considerate of possible pain, balance, or post-traumatic stress issues during physical contact.

• Put yourself at the person’s eye level when engaging in a conversation; rather than kneeling, pull up a chair.

• When serving as a sighted guide, offer your arm or shoulder rather than grabbing or pushing the individual.

• Describe the setting, environment, written material, and obstacles when serving as a sighted guide.

• If an individual uses a sign language interpreter, speak directly to the person, not the interpreter; keep your eyes on the individual and not the interpreter.

• If someone has a speech disability, do not speak for the person or attempt to finish their sentences.

• Accept the lived experiences of everyone, especially people with non-apparent disabilities.

A starters guide to disability etiquette.

--

--