Twin Tower Sunset

Ronnie Michelle
3 min readSep 12, 2020

--

A memory.

https://i.pinimg.com/originals/55/96/5c/55965ce5d6fcc6f8217efad029b61a39.jpg

My first memory of being in Manhattan exemplifies curiosity. At four years old, I was susceptible to everything around me. My mind worked like a sponge, trying to absorb everything I was surrounded by. Most New Yorkers overlook the beauty and constant movement of the city but for me, it was impossible to tune it out.

I remember being engulfed by fascination over the enormous city. Question after question, my brain couldn’t fathom the concrete jungle we call Manhattan. The world is still new to children, which gives them a whimsical imagination that adults lose over time. Flooded with excitement and wonder that day, I was eager to discover all the wonderful things that so many people take for granted. Over the years my memory has grown hazy, but I remember taking an “adventure” with my dad into the city, that’s what we called our outings because we never knew what events would arise or what the day would bring.

I remember bouncing along the busy city streets, never knowing where to turn my head. I was lucky enough to have a birds eye view from the top of my dads shoulders. As we walked, I munched on a pretzel- being sure to sprinkle the excess salt into his hair. As per our usual adventure, we seemed to arrive at our destination in the blink of an eye.

I remember being in a large building that seemed too magnificent for the eyes of a toddler and I was fixated on filling my stomach with another snack. My great adventure to the food court had just begun. We stopped along the way to get a portrait drawn. It was a rigorous process to sit still. When the illustration was complete everyone seemed to be thrilled that I had such a happy face, but what they didn’t realize was that I was thinking about cheese fries. Which I was treated to shortly after.

We had a feast at Nathan’s and suddenly we were transported to the roof of the very tall very steel building. As my dad and I watched the sunset atop the building, I had no idea how momentous the place would become, just a year or so later.

Elegizing the events of 9/11 seem exploitative, in my opinion. However, I can’t ignore the tremendous beauty of this city and the importance to never take things for granted. I wrote this as part of a reflection piece in which I recalled my early memories as a 4 year old child growing up in New York City and I couldn’t think of a better day to share this, to remember to soak in the happiness and beauty around us and love people a little harder.

I’m really lucky that I got to experience the beauty of the towers and see them with magic in my eyes before the world became a little more disheartened.

--

--

Ronnie Michelle

Feminist. Mental Health Advocate. Literature Lover. Check out my Insta @little.spark.of.ronnie