How I Booked a Show on Disney

Ronni Hawk
3 min readJan 14, 2019

People ask me all the time: “How did you get on the Disney Channel?!” Honestly, it was partly my passion for acting and then a whole lotta luck.

I was always a performer! I started dancing at age five and then began acting when I was twelve. I started auditioning and booking a few commercials. Can you find me in this KFC commercial? Or how about this one for Bealls?

My family (who gives me so much support ❤️) decided to move to Los Angeles so I could really pursue this. I starred in a series of short films and then my agent called me about the audition for “Stuck in the Middle.”

Believe it or not, I almost didn’t go to the audition! 😱 There were a lot of people trying out for the part and the wait was an hour long. It seemed pointless. But my very smart mom convinced me to go. Thank you, mom! 😊

The whole audition took like 3 seconds. I was convinced they didn’t like me, and I’d never hear back from them! But the very next day, I got a call to meet with the producers. I think people in New York City could hear me yelling across the country with joy.

There were a couple more meetings with the producers, and then, I began auditioning with different characters on the show to see if there was chemistry.

Two weeks later, I got a call confirming that I had booked the part of Rachel Diaz. Cue excited screaming again. Rehearsals started, and it was a big learning curve to understand how TV shows get filmed, but I really loved it. 🎬

We filmed the pilot and then there were two months of waiting. ⏳ Turns out, the producers liked the pilot but not the cast. 😧 We all had to come back in and audition again. They ended up letting three actors go and thankfully I had the opportunity to stay. Then, we started shooting the show! 🎥

The whole audition and pilot process took about four to five months. Sometimes things don’t move as quickly in the entertainment business as may people think. LOL.

I found the part of Rachel really relatable because I come from a large family too. I spent two seasons on the show (until my character left for college in Paris in season three) and it was an amazing time in my life.

So, what’s your passion? Are you pursuing it? If not, maybe it’s time to go for it!! 🚀

Chat later!

About the Author

Known for her roles in such hit shows as “Stuck in the Middle” and “On My Block,” Ronni Hawk is a popular actress and model. Ronni Hawk is also actively engaged with a number of charitable organizations. She regularly volunteers at animal shelters, goes on mission trips abroad to help people in need and is very passionate about protecting the environment. She shares her thoughts and experiences on several blogs, including Blogspot and RonniHawk.com, as well as her YouTube channel.

--

--

Ronni Hawk

Ronni Hawk is an actress, model, and social activist. She is best known for her roles in Netflix’s hit series On My Block and Disney’s Stuck in the Middle.