My son is a rocket scientist

Rudy Winnacker
1 min readJan 19, 2016

--

In line at the Safeway in Montclair:

Me: *sees a woman with a SpaceX sweatshirt* That’s a cool sweatshirt, where do I get one?

Woman: Oh, my son gave this to me last December. He’s a rocket scientist.

Me: A real one, that’s cool.

Woman: Yes, he works on the human parts of the rockets.

Me: Too bad about that crash yesterday.

Woman: Oh well, it’s not that bad.

Me: You can’t get it done if you don’t try.

Woman: Yes, that’s right. He works long hours but loves it. He said the shirt was only ten dollars.

Me: That’s very cool.

Woman: I’m really proud of him. *starts to leave*

Me: He’s changing the world.

Woman: Yeah, right? *beams*

Clerk: Hey man, what was that about?

Me: You know Elon Musk, the Tesla guy? He’s got another company called SpaceX trying to build reusable rockets.

Clerk: Very cool.

--

--

Rudy Winnacker

Operations engineer, formerly with: Twitter, Google, Blogger.