AFP PHOTO, DOUGLAS E. CURRAN http://www.gettyimages.com/detail/52009897

Sadho dekho, jag baurana

Roopesh Nair
2 min readJan 5, 2016

On December 6, 1992, a large crowd of Hindu Kar Sevaks (“volunteers”) entirely destroyed the 16th-century Babri Masjid mosque in Ayodhya, Uttar Pradesh, India, in an attempt to reclaim the land known as Ram Janmabhoomi (the mythological birthplace of the Hindu god Rama). The demolition occurred after a rally supporting the movement turned violent and resulted in several months of inter-communal rioting between India’s Hindu and Muslim communities, causing the death of at least 2,000 people.[1]

This post is in remembrance of that heinous act of communal violence performed solely for deriving political benefits.

Sadho dekho, jag baurana
Saachi kaho tou maran dhawe, jhootey jag patiyana

Hindu kehet hai Ram hamara, Musalman Rehmana
Apas mein dou lare martu hain, maram koi nahi jana.

Mala pahire, topi pahire, chhaap tilak anumana
Sakhi sabde gawat bhule, aatam khabar na jana.

Bahut dekhe pir auliya , parhi kitan Qurana
Kare murid, kabar batlabe unnhu khuda na jana.

Yavidhi hasath chalat hai humko, aap kahawe sayaana,

Kahe Kabir suno bhai Sadho, in mein kaun deewana!
In mein kaun deewana!

Translation:
O Saints, I see the world is going insane
When I speak the truth they rush to beat me, but If I lie they bestow their trust on me

The Hindus claim Ram as theirs, The Muslims claim Rahim
They fight and kill in their names, but their knowledge is hollow.

Turning the rosary, wearing a cap, adorning marks of their faith
singing hymns, they keep no knowledge of the soul.

I have seen a lot of preachers who read The Quran
And speak to worship graves, but do not understand God.

And as I travel my path being my happy self, you call me clever and cunning

Listen to me, Kabir, as I tell you O Saint, none of them is passionately in love with Him!

--

--