Kontaktpunkt [the haptic encounter]

Rori Knudtson
3 min readJul 11, 2018

PART THREE

All at once, we broke one barrier.

If I could count all the times in my life that I stepped into spaces that are unknown, unplanned and unreal that resulted in opening a door into more than I could have imagined, it might be possible to assure you that these are the moments in living most worth embracing. Because it is when I have done just such, despite what my nagging societal conditioning tells me is wrong, scary and even irresponsible, that I have experienced elevating myself to some higher state of consciousness.

These barriers are real and yet they are a completely human-constructed state of control. Perhaps it is so, if you witness and know, you can no longer be controlled by the very system that tells you to be quiet, to pay your taxes on time, to fit into a box of the societal normative. Sometimes the rug that keeps us surely footed gets pulled out from under us, repeatedly. And when that continues, it is obvious, we should throw the rug away.

I want to say that the man and I fell in love and that we lived the happily-ever-after, but we all know that is not real. And that kind of story gives us false hopes that the biggest work of our romantic lives lies in that first encounter, and the subsequent few.

--

--