PSA: How to soft-reset your iPhone 7

Rory McMeekin
1 min readSep 16, 2016

--

tl;dr – You now need to press the lock button with the volume down control instead of the home button…

Image courtesy of apple.com

After getting my hands on an iPhone 7 today, one of the apps I was setting-up got stuck and so I thought it would be a good opportunity to see how fast the new iPhone boots from a ‘soft-reset’.

To my dismay, my iPhone didn’t seem to do much when holding the home and lock buttons together (as it’s been done since the device’s inception). I had an inkling that the fact the new home button isn’t actually a button could be the culprit.

The only other hardware buttons on the device are the volume controls, so my next best guess were the volume up/down buttons. Finally, my iPhone gave way and flickered itself off and on again once I had pressed the lock button with the volume down control.

Who knows how we’ll rescue our iPhones once Apple ‘hapticise’ the other buttons…

--

--