Here’s what I did after I lost my job

True account by a 26 year old who was laid off due to Covid-19

Rosalind Koh
6 min readApr 6, 2020

“I’m very sorry. Your role has been made redundant.”

Photo by Siavash Ghanbari on Unsplash

My mind went blank immediately. In less than 24 hours after the call, I was already in the office to do a quick handover and returned my stuff.

My team and I had been working on a conference for the past 8 to 9 months but we had to postpone it due to the rapid escalation of the global pandemic. When news about pay cuts and layoffs started circulating, I had already anticipated for the worst.

I’d never lost my job before so what really surprised me was my initial reaction to the sudden job loss.

Initially, when a few of colleagues texted me to ask how I was doing, I told them this was not unexpected and wished them well. I tried not to think about it and kept telling myself: “I shouldn’t be feeling down when millions are losing their jobs globally…right?”

I was in complete denial.

Then I started to feel angry and hurt because it’s essentially a rejection. The company is telling you,“We don’t need you right now. The rest of the team can manage your work.”

And I spent the next few nights crying in bed.

Take A Breath.

--

--

Rosalind Koh

Growth marketer. Building early traction and driving growth within technology startups.