To Shush or Not to Shush?

How Do Librarians Really Feel About Shutting You Down With A Shush?

Roz Warren, Writing Coach
It’s a Hardback Life
3 min readNov 11, 2019

--

Photo by Marthijn Brinks on Unsplash

I work in a library and I enjoy shushing people.

Shutting down somebody who is hollering into their phone at top volume in the Quiet Reading Room is, for me, one of the joys of library work.

I am not alone in this. When I recently posted “I Love To Shush!” on my favorite Facebook Librarian Hangout? It earned 182 Likes.

It also inspired 87 comments, both pro and con. How do we librarians really feel about shushing you? Here’s a sampling:

I never hesitate to shush. Indoor voices, please.

I consider my ability to shush to be one of my superpowers as a librarian. But I try to use it sparingly.

Shushing is appropriate for people on cell phones. But not when people are having an engaging debate or conversation.

Asking a patron to keep the noise down is fine. But an actual shush? Never.

Shushing stresses me out. I only do it when another patron asks me to.

Our library is a Shush-Free zone. We aren’t allowed to shush people.

I have no need to shush. As a seasoned librarian, I have “the look” down.

--

--

Roz Warren, Writing Coach
It’s a Hardback Life

Writing Coach Roz Warren (roSwarren@gmail.com) helps Medium writers craft better, more boost-able stories. Roz used to write for the New York Times.