Henni Alftan

The Rose
2 min readFeb 11, 2019

I paint pictures.

These pictures are the consequence of my observations of the visible world and its representations.

Small perceptions of the everyday will merge with reflections on looking, painting and image making: the motif of my works is equally painting itself, its history, the paint as a physical substance, the tableau as an object.

There are no photographs on the walls in my studio. . . I prefer to employ observation and deduction.

Painting and picture often imitate each other.

I look at people, at the world and at its representations in pictures, painted and otherwise. My paintings are constructions of lines, colors and proportions. The way I paint is predetermined in the sketch, the plan. But my images are not new. I did not really invent them. It is as if they were already there.

http://www.hennialftan.com

--

--