Tell Me, Is This Heaven?

Unreal, this is the most underrated place ever in Bali.

Rosetea Ana
7 min readSep 6, 2023

“On Earth, there is no heaven, but there are pieces of it.” This quote is by Jules Renard, a well-known writer from France. Oh, I would love to talk about his masterpiece and all! Maybe later.

With the first sip of my morning tea — yes, I’m more of a tea person — I sometimes wonder if I am ever worthy of a good and happy life. My life has had more downs than ups, as far as I know. Even the day I wrote this until now, I still have no idea what I want to do after losing my job. I’m getting broke every day — not that I’m so obsessed with money, but at least I know I can afford food, which I almost can’t right now! For real though, my life is going nowhere.

Frustrating. Sad.

Well, luckily, I’m not going to get fully depressed (anyway, thank you for being here to read a little bit of me venting) because I’ve been dying to share this moment with you!

Me enjoying the amazing view
Me enjoying the amazing view. (Photo by author)

I love that picture so much. The lovely view, the ruined little table, with me contemplating life; everything about it is perfect. I’m such a big fan of nature, this place itself already fulfilled my craving.

If you are curious enough to know where this place is, worry not, I will write everything about it here based on my experience.

So, first things first, this area is called Munduk. I must say, it’s the most underrated place ever! It’s located in North Bali, Indonesia. Yes, that famous ‘Island of the Gods’.

I’m sure no matter where you come from, you’ve heard about Bali at least once or twice, right? But Munduk? Oh, believe me, as an Indonesian, that was also my first time hearing about Munduk.

Let’s start with how to get to Munduk.

One of the luxury resort in Munduk, we had dessert here. (Photo by author)

How to Get to Munduk

I personally traveled to Munduk by motorcycle — a quick disclaimer, I was with my boyfriend. To give you some context, we were on a journey exploring Bali, and Munduk was on our list of places to visit.

We set out from the Tabanan area, and the ride took approximately 1 hour and 30 minutes. Surprisingly, it didn’t feel that long (perhaps because I wasn’t the one driving?). Along the way, we encountered many winding roads, but the scenery was breathtaking. It was all lush greenery, with mountains on both sides, and the weather was a bit chilly, yet the refreshing breeze made it perfect!

Don’t worry, I’m still going to help you figure out how to get to Munduk. Based on my research, you can reach it by bus, which will take about 3 hours from Canggu or Denpasar. The price is around US$17 to US$30.

However, I’m not sure if taking the bus is the best option, as having a bike to get around Munduk can be incredibly convenient. But I understand, it might be a bit scary to travel that far if you’re not used to a scooter.

Relax! You can always rent one in Munduk. Just keep in mind that the roads in Munduk are steep and winding, so it’s crucial to be extra cautious when driving there.

Or, another option, you can try asking the locals if they can provide you with a lift to Munduk or offer guide services. I do this sometimes when I travel because I genuinely enjoy meeting new people, and it can be quite helpful.

Having lunch in Munduk. (Photo by author)

As soon as we arrived in Munduk, we wasted no time and tried the local food. I don’t know if it was the stunning view or I was starving, but everything we ate was absolutely delicious!

Most food options were Balinese cuisine, but you can also order other famous Indonesian dishes. I highly recommend trying the Rendang.

One thing I notice from the cafes (or warung in Indonesian) in Munduk is that they seem to sell the same things. Same foods, same menus. For me, doesn’t matter, it tastes good anyway! I love the price too. Estimated US$6 to US$10 for two people. Pretty cheap, right? Especially for the ambience and the view you get.

I don’t really have a recommended cafe here, like I said before, they are pretty much the same. Just look up Google Maps and visit a random cafe near you. I checked everything on maps and no matter where you look, you’ll find lots of highly-rated cafes with an average score of 4.7 out of 5.

I guess everyone is so happy just being here in Munduk. I totally understand that!

One morning in Munduk. (Photo by author)

Imagine waking up every morning to the soothing sound of rain and filling your lungs with fresh airs. That’s a normal morning in Munduk for you!

I used to live in a big city. Moment like this, oh you bet, I couldn’t have more enjoyed! Forever summer in Indonesia? Yeah, that’s not happening here. The lowest temperature in Munduk is 18°C (trust me, it feels like 10°C) which, for a tropical person like me, is freezing.

For some reason, Munduk is a favorite destination for French people. The locals mentioned it, and some of them can even speak French! That’s pretty fascinating since I know how hard it is to learn French — something I can attest to, having studied French Literature for four years.

By the way, I stayed at Adila Warung and Homestay. Kindest staff, wonderful view, great food. Solid 10 out of 10!

Most accommodations in Munduk are homestays, but you can also find a few luxury villas and resorts. For homestays like the one I stayed in, the price ranges from US$15 to US$40.

Sunset in Munduk. (Photo by author)

Tell me, is this heaven?

That was the most beautiful sunset I have ever witnessed in my life. I got goosebumps just to write this, but the experience was even more magical when I saw it with my own two eyes. Unreal. You could see mountains, forests, a glimpse of local houses, and the sea all in one view. Oh, truly mesmerizing!

Through my chaotic journey, I still can remember that I felt so grateful that day because I chose to carry on with my life. But, honestly, I wouldn’t be there if I had never met my boyfriend. He is the kindest, warmest, most precious person on Earth. I really want to give him the world!

Well, yeah, that’s a little shout-out to him. Wish he will read this one day. Teehee.

OK. That’s the sunset. Next, another hidden gem in Munduk.

Munduk has so many waterfalls. (Photo by author)

I know someday I will spend my retirement in a place like Munduk. Slow mornings, healthy diet, absorbing the good energy from sunset. God, that sounds like heaven on Earth.

There isn’t much to do in Munduk. If you ask me what to do in Munduk, I’d simply want to sit on the balcony of my room, reading a book with that serene view. So calm. Peaceful.

For someone who really hates their life, this is an opportunity to reconnect with yourself. At least, it was for me.

Anyway, Munduk is your perfect place for waterfall hunting. So many waterfalls here!

Even the one that I visited, was like the backyard of our homestay. 10 minutes hiking. It is so refreshing, and the water, wow, is as cold as ice. That one is Red Coral Waterfall also called Munduk Waterfall. But, you can always ask your host or locals for their recommendation or hidden waterfalls.

Oh, speaking of asking your host, another checklist for what to do in Munduk, some homestays offer a cooking class for the guests. We didn’t participate, but we watched other guests who did, and it looked like a super fun experience.

Side note. The store and the restaurant are closed around 9 PM. So, make sure you have everything you need before that time.

Nice breakfast at Adila Warung and Homestay. (Photo by author)

If you’ve reached this point, thank you so much! Believe me, I wish nothing but to help you in some way through my writing. I genuinely want you to discover Munduk and its charm — while I’m coping with my struggling life.

Because knowing someone out there is eager to read (and listen) to my scrappy words, makes me feel needed. And that’s enough reason to stay alive, don’t you think?

Anyway, really, you should add Munduk to your travel bucket list now. I want you to catch that magical sunset!

Oh, if you have any questions, drop them in the comment. Please don’t hesitate to ask me anything about Munduk and all. I’ll do my best to assist you in any way I can.

Ciao!

--

--

Rosetea Ana

Writing is my calling. I pour my life into every word.