Spark Diaries

Roshini Johri
3 min readApr 18, 2018

“From a tiny ‘Spark’ may burst a mighty flame” ~ Dante Alighieri

image: Salesforce.com

The how, the what and the why?

Me and spark have had a love-hate relationship for the past 2 years or so. It all began after my difficult break up with hive and I realized that I was better off without it. I thought I should voice my opinions and offer some relationship advice to people who are navigating their way through this arduous but some what rewarding stage of life.

On a more serious note, if you are someone who is just starting spark and have a somewhat good understanding on hive and sql, I highly recommend doing an online course which uses the databricks community edition. I did a brilliant one on edX, a while ago, which is currently archived. I am not sure if it is available if you did not archive it before. There are however some available on udemy which look promising.

a. Databricks Community Edition HomePage

The databricks community edition is a great place to just start working on something small to get used to spark and they support both scala and python notebooks.

--

--

Roshini Johri

AI Engineer. I write about machine learning, AI, WIMLDS, the environment and random things I dream about.