Does a Migraine Diet Work?

RosieHopesSo
10 min readFeb 5, 2024
Photo by Thought Catalog on Unsplash

Why I Started a Migraine Diet

When I was diagnosed with a migraine variant balance disorder last year, one of the first things my neuro-otologist recommended was to go on a migraine diet and start taking supplements. To be honest, I was a little dubious about it. I’ve lived with migraines for 17 years and I’ve never been able to identify a specific food trigger. I was even more dubious when I saw the list of things I had to exclude from my diet … it seemed excessive, if not downright cruel.

But, migraines and vestibular dysfunction were such a blight on my life that I was willing to do anything to make it stop. The doctor explained that the aim was to “drain my jug” in any way possible (if you’re not sure what this metaphor means, read my previous post). Research on the link between dietary triggers and migraines seems somewhat inconclusive, but it’s one of the lifestyle factors that can make a difference to your brain’s stress levels and likelihood to “overflow the jug”.

Skip ahead …

Which Foods Can Trigger Migraines?

--

--

RosieHopesSo

Strategist and storyteller, using words to heal my broken brain