Autism is not weakness

Rosie Weldon's autistic life
3 min readOct 13, 2023

I was diagnosed as autistic at 25 years old. I had a mock interview at University in which the lecturer stated the biggest thing going against me was my inability to hold eye contact. This was when I realised pursuing the label may help people understand me. What I did not bargain on was the journey I would take, in understanding myself.
[This was written in 2018]

It was not an instant process. I had this label, and I knew it to be true, but now I had to unlearn so much about myself. I compare the process to that of coming out as gay, in both instances I had to…

--

--

Rosie Weldon's autistic life

I share my autistic life openly and honestly online. I share the challenges and triumphs of living and working as an autistic adult.