Autistic dating

Rosie Weldon's autistic life
3 min readApr 11, 2024

Dating isn’t easy at the best of times, add in a communication centred disability, it becomes a nightmare. When you go non verbal the minute your date turns up, on your first date, it’s a little awkward to say the least.

Most people put a lot of effort into putting their best foot forward when it comes to dating. You polish off all your rough edges and you go into the interaction with your best foot forward. Except, for my autistic mind, nothing is harder than communicating with a new person. I am so far from capable of being the best version of myself in that situation. Christ, I was barely capable…

--

--

Rosie Weldon's autistic life

I share my autistic life openly and honestly online. I share the challenges and triumphs of living and working as an autistic adult.