Boost Your Literacy 2024: Dive into Short Novels and Read More Books

Now more than ever, we need to lean into reading more books, and short novels could be a great way to read books weekly.

De’Anne Roye
3 min readFeb 2, 2024
Picture taken by the author

I strolled through the library, looking for my next great read. I saw the book ‘No Return Address,’ labeled Quick Read. I was excited to read this book as one of my goals is to read books quickly and more books throughout the year.

I listen to many audiobooks because they are convenient to listen to when I go for a walk or clean up around the house; I can get more books to read. There is something exceptional about reading an actual paperback book that I love.

So, when I got this book and saw how small it was, I knew I could get it done quickly. I did; I read it in 2 days in about two hours. I read it while waiting for my daughter to finish her classes at Kumon. I finished the book the next day while she took her dance classes at the local ballet studio.

We are in a time when literacy and reading should be pushed more. As a child, I went to the library all summer to read books, which fundamentally changed my life. I have a 5-year-old daughter who now reads a book daily because I never want her to miss out on the joys and necessity of reading.

--

--

De’Anne Roye

I am a freelance writer with a focus on personal development, self-care, and personal essays.