Roy Msoli
2 min readApr 5, 2024
Photo by Majestic Lukas on Unsplash

Catch up on previous episodes for heart-pounding drama, suspense, and unexpected twists. Don’t miss out — your next adventure awaits!

The Shadow

The pulsating bass of the club’s music reverberated through my bones, a stark contrast to the turmoil swirling within me. Where were my friends when I needed them the most? Bryson, Wairimu — nowhere in sight.

With their formidable presence, the bouncers seemed ready to pounce at any moment, their intimidating gazes suffocating me in the crowded room.

The head bouncer, his face marked by a lightning-like scar, barked orders with a commanding tone that sent shivers down my spine. Locked in the store with no means of escape, I felt like an antelope surrounded by hungry lions. And the outrageous bill? It might as well have been my death sentence.

Desperate for a reprieve, I sought solace in the luxury surrounding me. The DJ mixes provided a temporary distraction, but the lyrics of “I am a prisoner” by Lucky Dube resonated with chilling clarity, echoing the suffocating reality closing in on me.

Just when despair threatened to consume me entirely, a familiar voice pierced through the chaos. Shaji’s unexpected appearance offered a glimmer of hope, albeit tinged with skepticism. “Wacha mchezo kwa kazi,” he said, his words carrying a weight I couldn’t ignore. Reluctantly, I followed him to the manager’s office, steeling myself for the impending reckoning.

As the manager handed me the staggering bill, the enormity of my debt crashed down on me like a tidal wave. With no one to turn to and no means of escape, I faced the grim reality of my situation head-on. But fate, it seemed, had other plans in store.

From the shadows emerged a figure cloaked in darkness, his presence ominous yet strangely alluring. His proposition hung in the air like a sinister promise: work for them until the debt was repaid or face the consequences. With no other choice but to acquiesce, I hesitantly signed my name, sealing my fate with trembling hands.

Little did I know, this decision would plunge me into a world far more treacherous than I could have ever imagined. As I stepped into the abyss of uncertainty, I couldn’t help but wonder what horrors awaited me on the other side…..

To be continued…

Roy Msoli

Roy Msoli is a fitness enthusiast, and writer who founded MsoliMuscles, aimed at inspiring and motivating young people to live good, healthy lives.