My next adventure

Ryan Sarver
2 min readSep 30, 2019

--

When I first joined Redpoint back in 2013, I was drawn to the incredible opportunity to partner with entrepreneurs and work alongside a remarkable team of experienced investors. These past six years have beat all of my wildest expectations — we’ve put our seventh fund to work supporting early-stage companies, and grown a world-class team at Redpoint that’s felt like family. So it’s bittersweet to be sharing that I’m transitioning out of Redpoint to pursue an idea I have gotten really excited about. I will stay on at Redpoint as a Venture Partner, maintain my board seats and continue to work closely with the team, but in a slightly different fashion while I pursue my own entrepreneurial path.

I’ve had the privilege to work with some of the best entrepreneurs in the world. I am honored that so many founders picked me to be their partner on their journeys, and I look forward to continuing to work closely with them as the adventure continues.

I also feel very lucky to have worked with, learned, and grown alongside my Redpoint family. The way the firm was founded 20 years ago and how it has been managed during that period is unique in the venture world and has set them up for enormous success over the next decade. They are a huge part of what made me want to join the firm six years ago, and I’m deeply grateful to consider them all close friends as I make this transition.

At the same time, it’s this experience that has inspired me to take my own leap. As I reflect on the last 20 years of my career in and around some amazing startups and founders, I’m eager to take everything I’ve learned through those experiences and build something new. I’m also happy that as this next chapter unveils, I’ll always be a part of the Redpoint family.

I strongly believe that we grow the most personally when we throw ourselves into new and difficult challenges. To that end, I’m excited for this next adventure.

--

--

Ryan Sarver

Partner at @redpointvc. Previously, Director of Platform at Twitter. Detroit and Boston export. Foodie and over-the-hill hockey player. @devon’s lesser half