Rav Sekhon
2 min readSep 18, 2022

--

Enhance your well-being: change environment

Image authors own

I was recently handed out some news that really hit me hard, emotional pain on a level that I’d never experienced before. I pray I never experience it again.

However, this is not the point of my article.

The reason I find myself writing right now, (on my smart phone!), is to highlight the profound benefit that a change of environment can have on your well-being. It has changed how I feel significantly, although the pain still exists, I feel more positive about my difficult experience.

In no way am I suggesting that changing environment solves everything, because it doesn’t, and the deep stuff will still require some work to process/explore/accept.

But, what I am saying is that a change in environment can help.

It helped me by:

  • allowing space and time to create new perspective
  • experiencing a new space that influenced how I feel
  • removing myself from an environment that I associate with my pain

It has helped me because I now have a new perspective that allows me to work towards accepting my experience.

To afford ourselves space and time is a luxury. This sounds like a ridiculous sentence, as they both come for free, but (most) live in a world…

--

--

Rav Sekhon

A psychotherapist and deep thinker, with a passion for living optimistically. I enjoy writing about things that we can relate to as humans.