What I learned about buying the top-of-the-line Apple MacBook Pro

Roy Shadmon
4 min readJan 10, 2020

There is no better feeling than using an Apple MacBook Pro to get work done. MacOS is absolutely amazing, nearly bug-free, provides great security, and allows for seamless data transfer to and from any Apple device you own. Prior to transitioning over to Apple’s ecosystem, I grew up using a Windows laptop. I used a HP laptop for the first 2 years of college, however, when professors kept posting installation and execution scripts that worked exclusively for Mac’s OS X operating system, I decided it was finally time to invest in one.

Since Apple devices are notorious to rapidly degrade once a newer device is released, I decided to upgrade all of the components in my machine with the thought that my “stronger” computer would degrade slower.

Luckily when I decided to buy my laptop, Apple just released a completely new version of their MacBook Pro that contained a larger track pad and a digital touch bar that replaced the function keys. The updates to the laptop were the new hype and I had to have one.

When I ordered my laptop, I decided I wanted the 13 inch screen because the laptop weighed less, would be easier to take to and from college, and was slightly cheaper than the larger 15 inch option.

During the online purchasing process, Apple lets you upgrade 3 different parts: a faster processor, bigger RAM, and a larger SSD.

The 13 inch base model starts at $1,299.

--

--

Roy Shadmon

PhD student @ UC Santa Cruz | Security Engineer @ Looker