Youtube Games are the Future

Raza Shareef
4 min readFeb 25, 2020

--

Growing up, the internet was simple. I would get online and go to my favorite website and spend hours on there. That website…..https://www.cartoonnetwork.com/, I loved going on that website to read summaries of my favorite tv shows, look at their shop, but my favorite thing to do was to play their games. I loved it. I would just play their games that had to do with my favorite tv shows/characters such as ‘Dexter’s Laboratory’, ‘Ed,Edd, and Eddy’, ‘Teen Titans’ and so many other shows. I loved playing those simple games.

Cartoon Network Games

However as I began to grow up and ‘Cartoon Network’ changed to ‘ESPN’ or ‘Youtube’ in my life.My observing my little nephews and nieces I realized that kids weren’t really watching Cartoon Network anymore. It was so odd to me (but not really after seeing the quality of show on the channel). I soon realized that kids were glued to their tablets watching youtube video after youtube video, because the commercials weren't long and you didn't have to wait for a whole week to watch the next episode. You could just watch whatever you want ASAP. However, youtube didn’t have what Cartoon Network had….games. You couldn't go on Youtube and play a game with your favorite youtuber in it.

My Favorite Game

So I created a solution(and will continue to do so), I made a game with some people’s favorite Youtuber so viewers can have some fun, just like I did playing with Dexter in my favorite game ‘Toon Hoops’

Game’s Main Screen

David Dobrik is one of the biggest Youtube creators in the world. He has over 10+ million subscribers and he does it my making planned out vlogs. One of the things he enjoys doing is hitting his friends with a Paintball gun. It is one of his classic bits that viewers enjoy. In seeing that bit of his, I came up with the idea of making a game in which the user plays as David Dobrik and shoots his good pal Jason Nash as he runs across the screen, just like how it goes in his various vlogs.

Code pt.1

I made the game in ruby using ruby’s Gosu library. Gosu is a 2-D game development library. The first thing I had to do when making the game was to create my window and initialize the appropriate variables for the game. My window was 800x600 and the main variables I used were my images of David,Jason, and a Tesla image(I’ll explain later). I made David the ‘@cursor’ since the user plays as him and Jason is the ‘@image’. The other variables I used were my score, time, and the velocity. The velocity variable controls the speed of the moving image(Jason). After initializing the variables I had to actually draw them onto the window and I did so within my draw method.

Code pt.2

The update method would deal with the image(Jason) appearing and reappearing throughout gameplay and make sure the timer would go down. The button_down method would would allow you to get a hit on Jason and the screen would flash Green and you score would go +10 but if you would miss it would flash red and your score would -10.

VICTORY!

If your score is in the positive you get a special prize from David, its one of his favorite things to do.

THIS BLOG IS NOT SPONSORED MY SEATGEEK

--

--