HIP HOP PASSION

Ruben Broodcoorens
1 min readNov 5, 2017

--

The story starts in 2009, when I was 12–13 years old and we moved from Halle to Leuven with my family. After the Christmas holidays I was welcomed in a brand new environment. I needed to make new friends, which at that time was really scary for me.

It was around that time I started to write English rap lyrics, to escape from my new reality I guess. I was inspired by rappers like Lil’ Wayne, The Game, Drake, T-Pain,… Allthough I was only 13 years old I learned how to work with Garageband and quickly started to record and make my own music. I posted everything on Youtube, but the reactions were mostly negative. At school I was kind of bullied by older pupils, but none of that bothered me and even motivated me to make more music.

A couple years later, in 2013 I made a switch from English to Dutch in my songwriting. I felt I could say more in my native language. My first release was ‘Uitdaging’

The song is completely written, produced, mixed, recorded by me. I also made the music video. Same goes for the second video.

2013

2014

In 2014–2015 I started studying in Brussels at the Erasmushogeschool. I studied Idea & Innovation management. The new city and people brought new energy to myself. I can proudly say that I opened up and it translated in new music which you can find on my soundcloud and there’s a lot more coming!

http://www.soundcloud.be/rubnsbe

2017

--

--