Don’t start freelancing like I did

Ruben Leija
6 min readDec 20, 2017

Have you ever felt confused on where to start for freelancing? Well, I was there and I didn’t do my research well enough on the start.

Let me just say, that I typically have to FAIL very hard for me to learn the right way. I’m not one of those, “learn from others mistakes”. If you have that ability to learn from others mistakes, than 👏

When I first started freelancing, I thought it was going to be a piece of cake. My first job came to me at ease and lasted about 6 months. At the time, my tools were my text editor to edit code, a google spreadsheet for client list and invoices but after that long contract my life got harder.

I than quickly realized that my accounting was off. The way I’ve done payments and time management was much harder than it could of been and I realized that I got comfortable and did not continue to market myself through out the long contract. So, I would like to share some insights on a few tools and methods that I’ve come across, that I wish I would have known before.

I will be coming from a freelance web developer position, so some of the tools I mention may not relate to you.

P.S. before reading this article, I highly recommend reading my last article, so you may get a sense of an idea of what you’re geting yourself into when going as a full-time freelancer.

--

--