Things I love about Lahore, Pakistan

Rubina Khush Jan
5 min readMar 29, 2023

--

I am lucky enough to have a few good friends in Lahore. From the beginning of my stay in this city, my friends have made life more enjoyable and happening.

A few years back, I decided to move to Lahore from Karachi. I had a job where I got the chance to visit all the major cities of Pakistan. Lahore’s amazing places remained in my thoughts long after my short trips.

A sitting bench on roadside with trees; Lahore, Pakistan.
Source: RJ Pixels

The city has well-kept green belts, general cleanliness and a better security situation. It gets a good share of rain showers throughout the year which keeps the city clean and green.

Over the last few years during my stay in Lahore, I have seen a positive vibrant city. The hospitality of the people is impeccable. The general city is welcoming, friendlier and supportive.

Lahore is a hustling and bustling city of Pakistan. Yet, it has an old soul with a metropolitan vibe.

The unique identity of the Lahore city is the red brick used in its structural buildings. Red brick is most visible in the historical architecture in the Walled City of Lahore.

The walled city of Lahore has its own aura and vibe.

Dehli Gate of the Walled City of Lahore, Pakistan.
Source: RJ Pixels

There are thirteen famous gates of the Walled City. ‘Taxali gate, Delhi gate, Mochi gate, Bhatti gate, Akbari gate, Kashmiri gate, Lohari gate, Roshani gate, Masti gate, Shah Alam gate’ is commonly visited by the citizens as well as tourists. These gates completely surrounded the then-known old city of Lahore.

The old city of Lahore was once confined within its magnificent walls. The narrow well-kept small alleyways guarded by the decorated gates take you to a bygone era.

A busy street entrance in the walled city Lahore, Pakistan
Source: RJ Pixels

The streets are packed with busy hawkers and customers. The small grocery shops exuberate colours from spices and lentils. The donkey-pull carts and the people living there add to the vibrancy of the walled city of Lahore.

The resident’s attachment is evident in the old renovated and preserved homes. Small windows opening into the streets show people conducting business besides living there.

Source: RJ Pixels

Historical mosques and the iconic Fort shadow the small streets. They share a glimpse of the ancient times. The streets buzz with sounds from the shops and occasional songs from food kiosks.

Silhouette of Mosque, Masjid in Walled city Lahore, Pakistan
Source: RJ Pixels

The mouthwatering ‘halwa puri’ along with other traditional meat items are irresistible. Some of the well-known restaurants that I have tried with friends are the Haveli restaurant and Cucoo’s Den.

Source: RJ Pixels

Lahori people love their food. A typical very common breakfast is bread (naan) with Chickpeas (channy). Lassi is the drink in summers whereas hot milk and meat broth (yakhni) is also consumed in winters. The local cuisine includes ‘karhai’ and ‘nihari’ as well.

As soon as the gates are left behind, a different city altogether opens up. My friends tell me that the city outside the walls has developed in later years. Although, the typical architectural red brick buildings remain intact. One of the staple identities of the city of Lahore.

Sunset at the Shalimar Garden, Shalimar Bagh.
Source: RJ Pixels

The Shalimar Garden is a historical place I got to visit after settling in Lahore.

I love its architectural design. It shows the artistic style of the Mughal Empire. One can drive to it or even take the orange train to this historical garden turned into a public park.

The Garden has lush green grass with red brick pathways and buildings. It’s a quiet and peaceful place. Sitting there for hours with a book or lying on the grass is therapeutic.

Another park which is my most favourite is the Jallo park.

It’s a huge park with a wildlife sanctuary scattered over acres. It is a great family picnic point.

Jallo Park, Lahore, Pakistan.
Source: RJ Pixels

The park has beautiful trees, an artificial lake, a zoo and a botanical garden. BBQ pits and summer huts for families and a forestry research Centre to name a few. Ideal place for long walks and picnics with friends. I fell in love with the tranquillity and beautiful wild trees.

Hiran Minar, Pakistan
Source: RJ Pixels

A little outside Lahore is the Hiran Minar “the Deer Tower”.

It is another stunning landmark. Built in the Mughal era in memory of the pet antelope loved by the Mughal Emperor Jahangir.

The place has a tower ‘minaret’ surrounded by gardens and a water pool. It is an excellent place to get a glimpse into Mughal era architecture. I enjoyed the scenic beauty of Hiran Minar with my old besties.

Lahore Museum on the Mall Road, Lahore Pakistan.
Source: RJ Pixels

The Lahore Museum is a great place to visit.

I went there with my family and had a great time. Situated on the mall road, the red clay monumental building is hard to miss. It is one of the largest museums in Pakistan.

The weather in Lahore is hot in summer and colder in winter. I love to see the changing colours of the trees shedding leaves during the autumn season. But winters are my favourite. The foggy mornings make me want to stay in bed under the soft warm blankets.

The rainy season also known as ‘Sawan’, or ‘Barsaat’ reminds me of the old Hindi and Urdu songs. It is like a page out of a classical romantic novel. It makes me nostalgic for the old days of Lahore that I have read about in books. The season has a melancholy mood with a hope for days to come.

Like a fallen leaf flowing on the surface of a river, I am lost in Lahore. Still, exploring more places while enjoying the amazing views and the journey.

--

--

Rubina Khush Jan

Content writer | Digital Marketer | Sales prof. I write about my life experiences. Let's follow each other's journey to create enriching experiences.