make art not war

Ruby Wei
1 min readMar 25, 2024

December 6, 2017

and it was predictable, indescribable, incredible

because you never think it’d happen to you until it really does

until you look at it straight in the eye

and think:

wow that must be something

but its not

it is just a random pile scattered together

and i thought i knew what i was doing because the image in my head looked so right

but i sat there staring

and it didnt seem right. it wasnt right. it was terrifying

i shouldve known that

i cant create value, shadow and light, out of compositions that already contain value

so what do I do now?

I don’t know.

it’s like a “right person, wrong time” analogy

if it was really the right person why in the world would it be at the wrong time?

if my piece is really the piece I’ve been working up to why did inspiration not hit me at the right moment

but there’s still that what if.

and my piece still contains a what if.

because what if i can change the composition, change something to make it what I want

wrong time. wrong way. something’s wrong.

I just don’t know what.

I’ll figure it out

--

--

Ruby Wei

author of “Cacophony: A Novel” | making sense of the world through literature - heart singing, eyes dancing 🤍 @rubyweibingqiao on ins