Graph Selection 101: Navigating the Landscape of Data Visualization

Rudra Prasad Bhuyan
5 min readJun 15, 2024

--

I collected all the data-related graphs and wrote an article for you to choose the best graph.

“The more data you have, the more you can learn, and the more you can improve.” — Unknown

Hey, Data Points 👋

During my EDA (Exploratory Data Analysis), I often struggle with choosing the best type of graph or visual to achieve the best outcome from the data. To address this, I have collected a variety of graphs, from frequently used ones to more advanced visuals.

In this article, I will showcase various graphs. In the future, I plan to add more articles describing each graph in detail, including its variables, why to use it, and when to use it. Stay connected for more updates!…….

Let’s Get Started ….🙌

HORIZONTAL BAR GRAPH

VERTICAL BAR GRAPH

DOT PLOT

GROUPED BAR GRAPH

STACKED BAR GRAPH

HEAT MAP

HISTOGRAM

DENSITY PLOT

CUMULATIVE DENSITY GRAPH

Q-Q PLOT

BOX PLOT

VIOLIN PLOTS

STRIP PLOT

SINE PLOT

STACKED HISTOGRAM

OVERLAPPING DENSITY PLOT

STACKED DENSITY PLOT

MOSAIC PLOT

TREE MAP

PARALLEL SETS

SCATTER PLOT

BUBBLE CHATT

SLOP CHAT

DENSITY CONTOUR PLOT

2D HISTGRAM

PAIR PLOT

LINE

CONNECTED SCATTERED PLOT

MAP

ERROR BARS GRAPH

ERROR BARS WITH BINS

2D ERROR BARS GRAPH

GRADED ERROR BARS GRAPH

CONFIDENCE STRIP PLOT

QUANTILE DOT PLOT

CONFIDENCE BAND

FITTED BARS FRAPH

3D SURFACE PLOT

3D SCATTER PLOT

3D COUNTER PLOT

WIREFRAME PLOT

WIREFRAME PLOT ( 3D MESH )

3D SURFACE

3D HISTOGRAM

Including, but not limited to...

With time, I add new graphs. I’d be happy to help you with suggestions and feedback on your graph. Please go ahead and share.

My LinkedIn handle [Link]

--

--

Rudra Prasad Bhuyan

Hey, Data Points 😄 As a Data Analyst, I have embarked on a journey to master the art of transforming raw data into valuable insights.