Nick Morrison ( Unsplash )

What Writing Means to Me

Ru
4 min readJul 4, 2020

I believe that I fancy writing. It is genuinely something that I would want to do more often. I like the feeling of my fingers gliding over the keyboard and watching each new character appear on my computer screen as I type. The one problem is that I only write when inspiration hits. Once that inspiration has left my fingertips, the story is as good as gone.

I have many ideas, maybe too many ideas, that it becomes overwhelming at times. How does one find the correct words to encompass such tremendous ideas? I never know how to find the ‘right’ words that capture the idea. The characters that I have wanted to write about all seem real and are waiting for their story to be told. These characters’ lives all seem plausible yet exciting and exhilarating in their way.

Each character is not the same and is different from the next in many aspects. They each of walked their unique path. From an orphan to a Hollywood wannabe, there is a different story to be told with each new character. This is what I love about writing. I love how different things can be and how nothing is limited.

Yet once the idea has struck, I feel the urge to pursue the journey of writing and completing these tales. The motivation comes quick but leaves just as quickly as it has arrived. Unfortunately, inspiration and motivation are fleeting. So, how does one write? I know I am in love with these characters, engrossed by the depth they could possess and their flaws. Even with this amazement that’s not enough for me to keep writing. Where do I find the strength to type all the write words and to write a story that is worth reading.

Yes, the point of writing is for the story to be read and for it to be known. Therefore, if no one reads your story, it brings into question whether or not there was a point to ever writing it. If no one reads your story you can’t make a career out of it, if no one likes your story you may face possible ridicule for it. If…

This is fear, doubt and hesitation that comes into question when writing a story or blog that is meant to be read by other people. These emotions are ever-present and pose many questions to the prospective writer. I was in the position of wanting to make my first public post and I had no clue where to start. Yes, the whole thing is to be passionate about what you are writing about but also being able to ‘read the room’ is a key part about deciding to write.

With all the questions that came to mind in this process, I decided to turn to my trusted friend, google. I read that articles should be appealing, apparently make use of rambunctious words that one quite understands but can assume the meaning based on the context, and make use of all the right buzzwords because of search engine optimization. These tips did little to help me and I found myself questing if I even liked writing to begin with.

The question came up. I was curious to know if I had a genuine passion for writing. This is mainly due to my lack of writing during the quarantine period. I had an abundance of time at the beginning of lockdown that ensured because of the coronavirus but I chose not to write. I was rather consumed with other things that required less energy such a watching movies and television series. I enjoy watching films and series but reading is one thing that my liking of is questionable.

I am very specific when it comes to which books I read and this is what informs me to be very specific about what I write about in a personal capacity. For example, fantasy novels and grammar errors are a turn-off. When I read a novel it must be compelling, a page-turner. This lack of enthusiasm when it comes to reading could be telling about my passion for writing.

Another question came into question is that did I genuinely have no passion for it or was it because of a lack of ambition? The thing is I have no life plan that involves writing great works of literature and publishing them for all the world to see. You see there no end-goal for me. Personally, writing is something I do when I’m bored or excited about a new idea that I have.

My journey with writing hasn’t been linear. The journey has had many turns and has come to a halt on several occasions. I have made use of various forms of writing and written in various genres ( I even tried my hand at fantasy ). The way writing has evolved for me is that is used to an outlet and then a form of expression and the a means to share my ideas. From my experience writing is a complex activity especially when it comes to writing that is intended to be published.

--

--