Uric acid home testing kits recommended by gout sufferers

Rufio Pasco
1 min readAug 11, 2021

--

The most recommended home uric acid testing device

I talked with many fellow gout sufferers recently about how they measured their uric acid levels.

Many of them did what I do: get a blood test done at the doctor’s once every three months.

Others, however, tested their uric acid levels at home, much like diabetic people who check their blood glucose levels.

This fascinated me because I could imagine the benefits of more regular home testing and how it would help me identify my gout attack triggers.

So I asked them: what uric acid home testing devices or kits do you use?

Here’s what they recommended (ranked in order of most recommended):

  1. UASure Uric Acid Meter
  2. Kernel Multicheck Meter home test kit
  3. FORA 6
  4. Cofoe 3 in 1 Cholesterol Uric Acid Blood Glucose household meter

It’s been interesting to see the range of devices and kits that are available.

I’m going to check one out in the near future to see how it compares to the results that I get from my GP and I’ll be sure to share my experience here.

--

--

Rufio Pasco

Gout blogger. Had gout for 12 years. Helping fellow gout sufferers by sharing my experiences of living with this horrible condition.