One year finding art in the hidden

Rui Costa
2 min readMar 2, 2017

--

Nature and Humanity spent a great time building unexpected, unnatural, structures to support our routines, to power the lives we live today and I decided to start capturing what was there to see, yet seldom being seen.

“Chaotic Symmetry” @ Hotel Infante Sagres, Porto, Portugal — Feb 29, 2016

More often we live our days in a unnatural rush. What was once an enjoyable walk, a quiet enjoyable stare, is today a transitive motion from A to B.

One year ago, I decided to start capturing with fine attention to detail what was surrounding me. In the daily rush of a packed schedule, I found myself waiting for the next agenda item to start when I looked up, observed, and snapped “Chaotic Symmetry”, above.

That moment forced me to stop. To stop, observe, and absorb what was around me all the time, but often delegated to the peripheral vision plane. There was much more in our surroundings than meets the eye.

One year ago, I started photographing art that is in the hidden.

“Anything created by human beings is already in the great book of nature.”
- Antoni Gaudí

#artisinthehidden allowed me to admire how these little pieces are disguised in our every day surroundings. Serving as the background stories we ignore, but adore, being the white noise that we don’t see, but enjoy.

Here’s a few of the things I’ve seen so far (more on Instagram #artisinthehidden):

One year passed. Throughout this journey I saw details of such complexity that were in tandem with the designed simplicity that these structures should attain.

It’s about the simple things. The simple things that are part of our days, pockets of human and nature expression disguised as art, the art everyone sees, yet often ignored.

I wonder what the next year will entail.

Of one I’m sure. I’m becoming more obsessed with shifting my transitive motion into enjoyable walks. Now, I do stop to observe, and absorb what is around. Peripheral becoming central.

After that, I will still continue to the transitive walks, but now gladly inspired by what I’ve seen and looking forward to finding and enjoying the art that is in the hidden.

--

--

Rui Costa

Managing Director (USA) in Veniam. Founder and Coordinator in IEEE Academic.